Couple of the Year

by Rose Ganoe

 

This spring, I took a step out of my comfort zone (for Valentine’s Day, although it is kind of late) and put a senior couple in the spotlight to answer a few questions about their relationship, hoping to find out how they managed to stay to together for the over six months that they have been dating. To me, it is a miracle that a high school couple could stay together for so long, as is seems that in high school people date for so long before suddenly breaking up (usually leaving one person heartbroken in waves after); however, I, personally, have a warped sense of love and relationships, so I was secretly hoping for some little fault in their relationship. I even asked questions that would point to some kind of issue hidden in the “beauty” of a teenage relationship, because of course there is always a kind of drama. They disappointed me, though. Hannah and Todd have what seems to be an actual healthy relationship, so good for them. Take a look at what they are doing right.

They started dating September 13, 2014 (the same day as homecoming to be exact), and although they didn’t answer me on their least favorite thing about each other, they gave volumes of things they do like about each other such as Hannah likes how Todd is “always there for me, no matter what, and he always has a smile on his face”. Todd himself loves “that Hannah is dedicated to everything she does. It doesn’t matter if it’s a small project or huge project that takes weeks to complete, she fully dedicates herself”. They both also love watching movies together (insert Awe here) and their Valentine’s Day date has to be their favorite date…. Todd had showed up to Hannah’s house with “a giant teddy bear and a box of chocolates as a surprise on Valentine’s Day,” (Hannah’s favorite memory). They both inspire the other, too! For Hannah, “Todd inspires me to see the good and happiness in life just by putting a smile on my face what I see him,” and for Todd, “Hannah always inspires me to do my best in everything I do; she inspires me to be the best I can possibly be,” (Double Awe).

To end the perfect relationship, the couple does not even fight! It’s perfect! I cannot believe that I thought that anything could be wrong with this couple!

Leave a Reply

